October 17, 2012

  • All’s Quiet… a bit toooo quiet….

    Last week was an unusual week since I had the Girl Wed, Thurs, Friday overnight before returning her to her Momma, and then Monday and Tuesday this week. Today is the first day that it’s been just me and the cat and while I had a ton of things I wanted to work on- the new Romance novel is begging for time, the new YA novel wants development time, and it would be very NICE if someone (anyone) would do MORE than sweep and run the cleaner (which wasn’t highly productive since the Girl needed her own broom so she could walk in my dirt and spread it out and wanted to use my vacuum cleaner since hers was upstairs) so I guess it would be nice if even those tasks were redone, I’ve been distracted. The electricity guys were in my back yard again (but they’ve been there so often this summer, it’s not a surprise to see them anymore.) The sun was shining. The cat threw up in front of the patio door when I wouldn’t let him out. I needed caffeine. And then I realized… it was too quiet. No one singing in the background. No one talking about science or toys or where something is. No one wanting a snack, a drink, or needing to go potty. I’ve become acclimated to life with a two year old. Today was story time at the Library, but I didn’t have a reason to attend since the Girl was with her momma at the Pumpkin Show. The good news is that I have two more days of quiet this week so maybe I’ll actually get some work done this week after all. In the meantime, I’m off to create a dish that uses butternut squash and scallops.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *