October 25, 2011

  • Old Xangas…

    One of my Xangas has been being spammed a lot lately- with people who have made xanga accounts just so they could leave spam on my Xanga- much to my disgust. The one they’ve been hitting all week is one I’ve not used in a couple of years and I logged on tonight to shut it down, but I couldn’t bring myself to do so- even though I’ve moved most of the content to another xanga awhile ago. Finally decided to change the security settings so only friends can leave comments on it- not that anyone has in years- and began thinking about how hard it is to shut down something I don’t even use anymore. I guess moving on isn’t something I do well. Not sure that’s a bad thing, it just is what it is…

    Does it surprise anyone that I have more than one xanga (six- maybe seven, I think- some I used during a real emo period and haven’t looked at since and some are just for my Asian media obsession (which hasn’t gone away- I just have less time to feed it lately). I have other blogs in other places as well, but I tend to return here.

    Why so many Xangas and blogs? I’m not sure. I remember going through a time before I started writing full time where I had so much to say that one blog wouldn’t hold it all. Now that I’m writing fulltime, I have less to say and even less time to say it. Look at this space. I’ve not been here forever. I’ve been writing a blog in my mind for weeks though (this isn’t it- I’m sure it’ll show up soon.)

    When I look at some of the other blogs, the emotions and memories they evoke are fresh and real. I remember writing that, thinking that, doing that… when was that? Holy Cow! That was a long time ago! Where did time go? I read the blog tonight where I first thought about writing a screenplay for Van Ness- it was barely a germ of an idea back then, and the idea is one I rejected early in the process, but the five things I said it had to include are in the current version of the screenplay nobody will read. Over five years– and back then it was a simple “what if”. Since then, I’ve written two more and am working on #4. I’ve spent hours learning how to write a screenplay, watching movies, and talking to other screenwriters. Now I’m learning how to write all the marketing tools that accompany a screenplay. Plus, I’ve rewritten, retitled, reworked Van Ness’ at least four times and it’s much better now- much stronger. And the crazy thing is that I wrote a TV pilot for the first idea I rejected- now there’s something I should revisit someday.

    Anyway… can’t promise I’ll visit here as often as I did in the past, but I know I’ll be back… frequently. That’s just the way I am… live with it!

Comments (8)

  • It is really hard to shut down here at a certain point.  It would be like killing a friend.

  • Xanga was my first experience with blogging and my introduction to the world of social networking.  I have pages on Xanga, MySpace, Live Journal, Blogger, and many others I don’t even remember.  Now, it’s Facebook, Google+, Chime,in, Instagram, and who knows what else.  I just can’t seem to NOT experiment with whatever the latest online fad happens to be.  Xanga will always have a special place in my heart because of the fond memories I have here.  If it weren’t for Xanga I wouldn’t have gotten to know you, Onigiriman (who I met in person), Carey, and a few others.  

  • I like the way you are. I also like the idea of multiple pages for different reasons, different moods. I have two public blogs, one here and one at blogspot, and one hidden Xanga for my emo-y self. I haven’t been there in months, if not longer. As long as you keep writing, publicly or privately, you’re doing well. How’s the family? I catch some updates on facebook but I’m not a presence there much either these days.

  • :O How have you been..

  • Long time! How have you been? Thanks for visiting my site again!  God bless, ~ Pete

    “Since you were precious in My sight, you have been honored, and I have loved you…” Isaiah 43:4 (ref. my Xanga post of 2/21/2011 AD)

    http://evangelist-guy.xanga.com/741882736/do-you-feel-loved-and-honored/

  • My goodness, Jeri, so great to hear from you again!  Good luck on your writing, and even more on selling what you write (dollars in the door is the name of the game these days.]  My writing pokes along and I’m planning a new post over this weekend.  Gee, I’m sorry I never got to know the other five of you!

  • Nice to see that you visited my site again!!  I enjoy your posts when I visit your site!

    Just keep on writng on your screen plays.  I’ve had two that I’ve been writting on for ten YEARS and no one has picked them up yet!!

    …………….Stanelle :D

  • Those spammers are sure irritating, aren’t they?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *