Month: October 2011

  • Old Xangas…

    One of my Xangas has been being spammed a lot lately- with people who have made xanga accounts just so they could leave spam on my Xanga- much to my disgust. The one they’ve been hitting all week is one I’ve not used in a couple of years and I logged on tonight to shut it down, but I couldn’t bring myself to do so- even though I’ve moved most of the content to another xanga awhile ago. Finally decided to change the security settings so only friends can leave comments on it- not that anyone has in years- and began thinking about how hard it is to shut down something I don’t even use anymore. I guess moving on isn’t something I do well. Not sure that’s a bad thing, it just is what it is…

    Does it surprise anyone that I have more than one xanga (six- maybe seven, I think- some I used during a real emo period and haven’t looked at since and some are just for my Asian media obsession (which hasn’t gone away- I just have less time to feed it lately). I have other blogs in other places as well, but I tend to return here.

    Why so many Xangas and blogs? I’m not sure. I remember going through a time before I started writing full time where I had so much to say that one blog wouldn’t hold it all. Now that I’m writing fulltime, I have less to say and even less time to say it. Look at this space. I’ve not been here forever. I’ve been writing a blog in my mind for weeks though (this isn’t it- I’m sure it’ll show up soon.)

    When I look at some of the other blogs, the emotions and memories they evoke are fresh and real. I remember writing that, thinking that, doing that… when was that? Holy Cow! That was a long time ago! Where did time go? I read the blog tonight where I first thought about writing a screenplay for Van Ness- it was barely a germ of an idea back then, and the idea is one I rejected early in the process, but the five things I said it had to include are in the current version of the screenplay nobody will read. Over five years– and back then it was a simple “what if”. Since then, I’ve written two more and am working on #4. I’ve spent hours learning how to write a screenplay, watching movies, and talking to other screenwriters. Now I’m learning how to write all the marketing tools that accompany a screenplay. Plus, I’ve rewritten, retitled, reworked Van Ness’ at least four times and it’s much better now- much stronger. And the crazy thing is that I wrote a TV pilot for the first idea I rejected- now there’s something I should revisit someday.

    Anyway… can’t promise I’ll visit here as often as I did in the past, but I know I’ll be back… frequently. That’s just the way I am… live with it!